Why I Despise Gangster Rap

If I come across a little preachy in this post, forgive me. This is something I’ve wanted to get off my chest for a while, so strap in and here we go.

I cannot stand gangster rap. Now, I’m as big a fan of good pump-you-up music as the next guy, but I find gangster-style rap completely repulsive, and here’s why . . .

1) It’s disgustingly violent and degrades women.

I suppose this is really two reasons, but they overlap so much that I grouped them together. Example: From the New Boyz, a sentimental little ditty called “Tie Me Down.”

Got so many girls and I ain’t lettin’ go/Cause my life is great/And you ain’t nothing but a hoe.

Another example: One of Eminem’s songs . . . I can’t remember which, all of his semi-musical compost is the same.  

Sl**, you think I won’t choke now wh***/’Till the vocal cords don’t work in her throat no more?!/B****, I’ma kill you! Like a murder weapon, I’ma conceal you/In a closet with mildew, sheets, pillows and film you.

That one makes the New Boyz seem like Sinatra. Here’s another. I can’t help myself, there’s just so many examples that I keep finding new ones:

Innie, Minnie, mini, mo, pick the do’, or the flo’/Ho’ you gotta go if you ain’t takin’ off ya clothes/All I really wanna do is stick a d*** up in you

It’s very interesting to note that feminists aren’t up in arms about all this garbage. Take, for example, Catherine MacKinnon, who called for speech codes at American universities to keep people from using nasty words that degrade women . . . terms like “freshman.” However, she and all her ilk are completely silent when it comes to this foul, demeaning, so-called music.

2) It’s hateful to authority.

Now I may not be the world’s biggest cop fan (Yes, thanks for enforcing the law and arresting criminals and all that, but no, you may not search my car. Just give me my freaking speeding ticket for going two miles an hour over and let me go home) but rap crosses the line.

Example: Chamillionaire’s vile but admittedly catchy “Ridin’ Dirty:”

Hope cops don’t see me/On a low key/With no regards for the law we dodge em like f*** em all . . .

3) It’s racist.

Example: Apache’s “Apache Ain’t S***:” Kill the white people/We gonna make them hurt/Kill the white people/But buy my record first

Really, what else needs to be said?

4) It portrays black people in a negative fashion.

Bet you didn’t know that, huh? There are so many examples of this I can’t just pick a few, so let’s go with the words of Errol Louis, a black columnist for the New York Sun. He writes:

“Flip on any television or radio at virtually any hour of the day, and most of what purports to concern itself with black Americans is a long, stale parade of degrading caricatures. There are gun-toting men who boast of shooting their rivals to death in cold blood, and young women who brag about acting like money-crazed [prostitutes]. Life is portrayed as horrifyingly violent and unendingly bleak–and this nightmare is sold to the global market as ‘authentic’ black culture.”

John McWhorter, a black author and scholar also wrote in this vein, saying

“If this idiom had been created by whites, it would have been gone a long time ago, because we [blacks] wouldn’t have stood for it.”  

In summary, perhaps Professor Herb London put it best. When asked if gangster rap would bring about the end of Western civilization, he responded “The end of Western civilization? Who knows. The end of Western civility? Without question.”  

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go get myself steam cleaned.

4 Responses to Why I Despise Gangster Rap

  1. moose1942 says:

    There is a reason RAP rhymes with CRAP.

    Seriously I think Bill Cosby was right when he slammed the idiots who write and sing this garbage.

    Meh, but what do I know? I’m a Wonder-bread guy from Idaho.

  2. Jeff says:

    I agree 100% with your views on rap “music” Now can we please have chapter 10!???

  3. Grant says:

    I agree. Nothing worse in general…

    Then again, I don’t like Rap much period 😉 But Gangster Rap is one of the things I personally have a deep disguist for.

Leave a Reply

